COBIT 5 and Business Continuity Management

COBIT 5 and BCMCOBIT is an umbrella framework for governance and management of enterprise IT. COBIT 5 defines 17 IT-related goals that can be adopted to improve operational excellence in an organization. BCM is an extension of business process excellence. The best practices of COBIT 5 can be effectively used in the implementation of business continuity initiatives.A holistic BCM approach requires various resourcesÔö£├ÂÔö£├éÔö¼├║├ö├Â┬úÔö£├®Ôö£├ÂÔö£├éÔö¼├║├ö├Â┬úÔö¼ÔòæÔö£├ÂÔö£├éÔö¼├║├ö├Â┬úÔö£┬«both technical and non-technical.COBIT 5 defined seven categories of enablers which are factors that, individually and collectively, influence the working of governance and management over enterprise IT. ISO 22301:2012 listed eight categories of resources required to implement the selected business continuity strategy options [10]. A high-level mapping of COBIT 5Ôö£├ÂÔö£├éÔö¼├║├ö├Â┬úÔö£├®Ôö£├ÂÔö£├éÔö¼├║├ö├Â┬úÔö¼ÔòæÔö£├ÂÔö£├éÔö¼├║├ö├Â┬ú├ö├▓├╣s seven categories of enablers and the BCM resource requirements listed by ISO 22301:2012 may be observed from below categories:COBIT 5 - 7 Categories of Enablers

  • Principles, Policies and Frameworks
  • Processes
  • Organisational Structures
  • Culture, Ethics and Behaviour
  • Information
  • Services, Infrastructure and Applications
  • People, Skills and Competencies

ISO 22301 - Resource Requirements

  • People
  • Information and Data
  • Buildings, work environment and associated utilities
  • Facilities, equipment and consumables,
  • Information & Communication Technology (ICT) systems
  • Transportation
  • Finance
  • Partners and Suppliers

Various COBIT 5 process controls that expect management role in BCM-related processes are listed in Appendix-A of the COBIT 5 document. The PDCA process improvement cycle phase to which these process controls belong are also listed in Appendix-A.

Rate this article: 
Average: 1.1 (171 votes)